What Does Coffee have to do with the New Testament?

I love coffee! And let’s face it, if you are serious about the New Testament you love coffee as well. When I am not buying books, I am buying coffee and the equipment to make an excellent cup of coffee. Some may say I am a coffee snob; the truth is, I just want a good cup of coffee and I will do whatever needs to be done to achieve the perfect cup. So, if you are like me, always on the hunt for that perfect cup of java, then allow me to share with you a few new additions to my coffee arsenal that have taken my love for coffee to a whole new level of amazing!

Bonavita BV1800

Bonavita BV1800This machine is the gold standard for drip coffee! I use to prepare my morning cup of coffee with an automatic coffee maker, setting it all up before I went to bed and awaking to it 5am ready to serve. But with this Bonavita BV1800, I now get the pleasure of preparing my coffee when I get up. The Bonavita BV1800 does not have a automatic timer, so this forces you to prepare your coffee right before brewing, which is a good thing!

A few things that make the Bonavita BV1800 a truly amazing machine are the following. First is the heating of the water. Unlike most automatic coffee brewers the Bonavita BV1800 does not dispense water until it reaches 200°. By waiting to reach 200°, this ensures that cold water does not interact with the coffee and allows for a better cup of coffee. The other thing about the Bonavita BV1800 that makes it awesome is the way the water is dispensed onto the grounds. The Bonavita BV1800 has a shower like spout that disperses water evenly among the grounds. Again, this makes for a better cup of coffee.

Baratza Encore

BaratzaOne of the keys to producing an excellent cup of coffee is having a grinder that grinds like a boss, and the Baratza Encore is a boss! When picking out a grinder for home, it is imperative that you get a burr grinder. Unlike a blade grinder which chops up the beans, a burr grinder crushes the bean. By crushing the bean instead of chopping, this allows for a consistent grind.

I have a few other burr grinders, and I can say that the Baratza Encore is well worth the cost. One of the things that I like best is the lack of coffee dust. Also, the non-static container is great as well.

Let me encourage you to check out both of these coffee must-haves. If you are anything like me, constantly on the search for that illusive perfect cup of coffee, well friends search no longer! You will not be disappointed with the Bonavita BV1800 and Baratza Encore.

In my next post I will talk about some of my favorite coffee roasters. Stay tuned!

What do you use for your daily caffeine fix? Leave me a comment and tell me your daily routine. 

2 thoughts on “What Does Coffee have to do with the New Testament?

  1. Pingback: Looking for Good Coffee? | Theological Musings

Leave a Reply

