Music Notes

I have long been a fan of Jars of Clay. I remember hearing “Flood” on my local radio and thinking it was a great song. To this day I still purchase every album they release, and I enjoy everyone. I just finished reading this blog post by the frontman of Jars, Dan Haseltine, and I was touched in by his honesty and transparency.

Why do I bring this up? In his post, Haseltine makes reference to Jars sophomore album “Much Afraid“, a project which to this day I believe does not get the credit and praise it so rightfully deserves. Much Afraid is still by far my absolute favorite Jars album. The melodies, the harmonies, the lyrics, the arrangement of the songs, etc., everything about this work is amazing! I listen to this disc at least a week, if not more! Because Much Afraid followed what may still be Jars best known and most loved debut self-titled album, this may account for the reason it flies under so many peoples musical radars.

In the aforementioned blog post by Haseltine, the frontman describes his personal battle with depression during the recording of the Much Afraid, coming to a crescendo in the song “Portrait of an Apology.” After reading this article I can now see why I so deeply love Much Afraid. I purchased Much Afraid in the midst of a deep depression myself. It was a time that I will never forget, a time from which the scars still remain and the memories still haunt my thoughts and emotions to this day. God used that album in my life in a way that no album has since been used. The music of Much Afraid touches deep into the darkest parts of my heart and shines the light of God’s grace, mercy, love, and forgiveness into my wound soul. So for that I thank God for allowing Jars of Clay-and Dan Haseltine-to record an honest, raw, and sincere project.

Leave a Reply

