Review: Keep Your Greek

I love Greek. More specifically, I love Biblical (Hellenistic) Greek. When looking for a college to do my undergraduate work at, I specifically chose The Master’s College because it offered a degree in Biblical Languages. I remember the long nights of parsing, studying vocabulary, translating portions of the New Testament, and working through the syntax of a specific passage. These were times of great joy (and sometimes great anguish). Now, almost four years removed from The Master’s College, I still regularly read my Greek New Testament. I am grateful to have stuck with my Greek up until this day. But for some, this is not always the case. They leave school and immediately get involved in ministry. The Greek which they acquired in school has fallen by the wayside. For these people, a book like the one recently published by Zondervan can be a great tool and encouragement for them to return to their Greek and begin to once again find the joy of reading the Greek New Testament.

In his book Keep Your Greek: Strategies for Busy People, Constantine Campbell has done a great service for the minister and layman by writing a book that encourages and motivates the reader to get back into the Greek New Testament on a regular and consistent basis. In a very concise manner-ten chapters, an appendix, and a list of resources-Campbell outlines some practical tips for the person desiring to return to his Greek text. The chapters are as follows:

  1. Read Every day
  2. Burn Your Interlinear
  3. Use Software Tools Wisely
  4. Make Vocabulary Your Friend
  5. Practice Your Parsing
  6. Read Fast
  7. Read Slow
  8. Use Your Sense
  9. Get Your Greek Back
  10. Putting It All Together

What made this book so useful and enjoyable is that it was a great reminder for me to daily read my Greek text. Often times I can go days without cracking open my NA27 or UBS4. Campbell strongly reinforced the importance of daily reading from the Greek, even if it is only for 10-15 minutes at a time. One example that I found so useful was his discussion of a musician and his practice time. Campbell relates his personal story as a musician, and that by practicing for a little each day is far greater than practicing for a long period on one day, to the study of the Greek New Testament.

Having read Campbell before, I knew that I would find his work enjoyable and insightful, and he did not disappoint. He has taken an important subject and made it accessible and very practical. If you do not leave feeling energized to pick up your game and get back into the Greek New Testament, then you do not deserve to have a Greek New Testament.

One thought on “Review: Keep Your Greek

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: 03.12.2011 | Near Emmaus

Leave a Reply

