Worry Not

Matthew 6:31-34

“Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ “For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (NASB).

These verses have simultaneously been a comfort and a source of frustration. Everything in me believes these words and the promise connected to them. Countless hours have been spent in prayer, confessing that I know that Jesus will indeed provide for me daily needs of food, clothing, shelter, etc. Jesus emphatically states that the Father knows that I am in need, and that my needs will be met if I seek him and his kingdom. When I am discouraged and downtrodden this promise I bring before the Lord in prayer, confidently proclaiming my trust in the provision and timing of God.

Now, while these verses have brought comfort, they have also brought discouragement and anxiety. If God will indeed provide for my daily needs, why does He often times seem remain silent to my petitions of daily provision? Why do I cry out in tears asking Him to provide for me and my mine? He does so because He is good. He does not fail to listen, rather he listens intently and in His perfect timing answers my cries for help and provides just what I need, when I need it. Our heavenly Father is so good! He is so wise and sovereign, perfect in his timing and all his ways.

Lord, I ask that you continue to help me pursue your kingdom in the midst of heartache and discouragement. Allow me the grace to trust you and your promise to provide for me, even when I am tempted to despair and disbelieve your promise to do so. Lord, I need grace and strength to do all of these things. God help me!

Leave a Reply

