Why Do We Suffer?

More and more James 1.2 is becoming an anchor for my sanity. Life can be so cruel, and so can people. But I have learned that trials come so that I can be strengthened in my faith and grow in the grace of God. These trials come to take the world out of me and set my affections on the Savior. They come to give me endurance for the next trial; and yes, there will always be a next trial. They are as certain as death and taxes. But I am loving the closeness of the Savior in the midst of my present trial. “Cast all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you” (1 Pet 5.7). This is more true now than it has ever been for me.  I want to live like the saints in Heb 11. I want to share in the sufferings of the Messiah. Blessed be the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, to whom every knee will bow in heaven and on the earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord to the glory of God the Father!

2 thoughts on “Why Do We Suffer?

  1. Hey Cliff-
    Thanks for being so transparent, it’s a great encouragement to hear your stuggles even though we are different institutions..I will pray for the Lord to Preserve you and keep you strong no matter how difficult the times may be..God will work everything for the good in this situation, which I know you’re aware of..The Lord is Faithful to preserve you and assist you in everything…

    In Christ,
    Matt

  2. You know we are with you Cliff. We will ALWAYS be there for you too. God has truly blessed you and has great plans for you. He will show you the way.
    You have not had an easy path to follow. However, someday God will reward you greatly for all your faith and conviction, that we truly believe. You are a great son, brother, friend and most of all human being. You have a kind and caring heart.
    We love you greatly!
    DAD, MOM & CHERI 🙂

Leave a Reply

