Quote from, “Jesus’ Blood and Righteousness.”


Today at work I purchased Brian Vickers, “Jesus’ Blood and Righteousness.” Although I have only finished the introduction, I have already found a quote that I can say, “Amen!” to.

“There is in places a fair amount if Greek and Hebrew. I have not transliterated the languages. The reason is simple: I know few, if any people, who actually find transliterations helpful, much less people who can read them. Moreover, people who do not read Hebrew or Greek are not made to do so by transliterations. Essentially all it does is introduce two additional foreign languages into the text. It may look a bit more like English, but in reality it is not English nor is it Greek or Hebrew” (Vickers, Brian. Jesus’ Blood and Righteousness. Wheaton: Crossway Books, 2006).

I was recently reading something, and I my thoughts about transliterations was that of Mr. Vickers. So I am glad that I am not the only one who has these frustrations.

Leave a Reply

