Christian Unity and Disagreement

I have been think all day about what Christian unity is and when does disagreement become means for separating from other Christians. For example, I am a Reformed Baptist and I teach Sunday School at a Presbyterian Church. Is this wrong? Should I not attend a Presbyterian Church just because I disagree with their view of baptism? Is this a major doctrinal disagreement, or rather is it something that we can agree to disagree about? I would say it is the latter. Now, this does not mean that I am accepting paedobaptism as the correct view of baptism. I still hold tightly to credo-baptism, and believe that it is the proper mode of baptism. But should I disassociate myself from brothers and sisters in Christ just because of this one issue? My brothers and sisters who are Presbyterian and Lutheran are believers in the work of Christ for their salvation. They look to Christ alone as their hope for salvation (sure there may be some who would believe that baptism is salvific in the Presbyterian and Lutheran Church, but does that mean all Presbyterians and Lutherans hold this? The minority does not make up for the majority, neither does it represent the belief of all). There are much bigger issues to fight over and separate over than these. To use the phrase my Greek Prof has used on a number of occasions, “We are fiddling as Rome burns.” I would much rather spend my time defending Christianity from serious threats than fight over baptism, eschatology, and other issues. What do you think?

4 thoughts on “Christian Unity and Disagreement

  1. I quite agree (and that is rare, isn’t it?). Do me a favor and remember this principle when you move up to graduate study and are deep in some peripheral, esoteric subject that professional theologians love to form cliques over.

  2. I feel you. Being Pentecostal, I have found that all things that we might have differences in as far as doctrines, practices, and etc… We have put those aside and have been able to find common ground as Christians. I find it amazing in my walk, in my point in ministry that I am finally able to put aside my personal convictions on certain things for the betterment of our faith and the unity of the brotherhood in Christ!

    Rock on brother! we miss ya at the CBC..

    see ya later

    “Weak is the new strong.”

  3. i’m new to the net discussions about christian unity, but am elated to see that so many people are talking about this; things have changed since i was a youngster in the 50s. in those days, it was primarily a “you are wrong, and we are right” mentality.

    Clearly, Jesus dreams of us all being one, and so we need to be open to this dream. i tend to think that religious leaders will NOT play a big part in the realization of this dream. leadership always involves lots of power and territory.

    when ordinary christians are together, we are frequently inspired and energized by our common love for Jesus. it seems to me that anything done to promote common experience and sharing among us ordinary christians would do a great deal to promote christian unity. i would encourage common times and events for prayer, food, and music.

Leave a Reply

