More on Continuum

Now that I have been able to listen more to John Mayer’s new CD “Continuum”, I must say that I am sticking to my original post: It is the best CD of the year! It has a lot of R&B feel to it, mixed with blues. There is not much left over from “Room for Squares” on this CD, but that is fine by me. It is a continuation of “Heavier Things” with JM3 feel stamped all over it. This said, there is one song in particular that I find intriguing. Song number three, “Belief” is one of my favorite songs on the CD. It has a really good guitar feel to it, and lyrics that make you think. And think I did. The lyrics at the chorus are as follows:

We’re never gonna win the world
We’re never gonna stop the war
We’re never gonna beat this
If belief is what we’re fighting for

It seems to me that this line of thought is unwise, if not wrongheaded. Now, I know that the air in which we all breathe is one tainted with the war on terrorism and the war in Iraq. This may be what John had in mind when he penned these words. I do not know his intentions or motives in writing these words, but I could not help but ask if this is a true statement. Is it not “belief” that won the war against segregation? Was it not “belief” that ended slavery (and a Civil War)? Was it not “belief” that caused us to put a stop to the Nazis? If there is nothing to believe, then why write a song like this anyways? Was it belief that caused John to write these very words? Just a thought as I was listening to this incredible CD. Keep making really good and thought provoking songs that cause us to think and listen.

Leave a Reply

