Grad School

I am in the middle of applying to Grad school, and I was wondering if anyone could give me there feed back on the schools that I am thinking of applying to. I want to get a M.A. in New Testament, and the three schools that I am considering right now are:

Talbot School of Theology

Fuller Theological Seminary

Haggard School of Theology (APU)

Any suggestions? Thanks.

Note: The reasons why I am thinking of these is because I am getting married, and I want to stay in California for now.

4 thoughts on “Grad School

  1. Clifford…

    I don’t know much of anything about the other two, but I went to Talbot for a semester so I know a little about it. My experience there was very positive and the only reason I didn’t stay was I moved to Texas (the commute would have been killer). I enjoyed my profs and had great interactions with the other students. Your TMC work will probably get you some advanced standing credits towards your M.A. there too.

    I will say Talbot is intentionally targeting a broad group of people. In my classes I had everyone from people feeling called to ministry and pursuing that with their whole heart to some just taking classes to stay fresh and learning to some who don’t really know why they are there other then they want to know more about their faith. So, until you got to your major classes you’d probably feel like you are just in college again with assignments that are a bit more difficult and stretching.

    Hope some of that’s helpful. Feel free to e-mail me if you have any specific q’s I could help with.

    Didn’t know you were getting hitched… congrats!

    SEZ

  2. Of those three schools, I would suggest Fuller. While Clint Arnold would be good to work with at Talbot, Fuller has more NT profs (such as Hagner, Kim, Thompson and Beaton). Fuller also has a good library which I’ve used a number of times during my California days. Besides, Pasadena is such a nice area (nicer than La Mirada at least). But there are other aspects to keep in mind. Talbot is smaller so you’ll likely get to know the faculty better, and since I don’t know where you live, I don’t know which would be closer.

Leave a Reply

