Continuum

Anyone who knows me knows that I like good guitar players and good music. I am a big fan of the blues, and some of my favorites include Stevie Ray Vaughn, Buddy Guy, Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, Chuck Berry, and others. But my favorite guitarist is none other John Mayer. I think he is one of the best song writers and guitarists alive today. Every album that he has released as been better than its previous one. After hearing him rip on Try! (his live blues disc) with his band, John Mayer Trio, I thought that it could not get better. But I am wrong, dead wrong! I just downloaded his new CD “Continuum” from itunes and I must say that it is incredible. It is smooth and slick, but not too much. It is similar to “Heavier Things”, but with a little JM3 to keep it going strong. As of now, my favorite song on the disc is “Gravity.” It is such an amazing sounding slow blues jam. It was on Try!, and like Try! it contains a killer Mayer guitar solo. As I begin to listen to the tracks I will post more about the album as a whole. But for now, all who like good, deep, and well thought out lyrics should go and get this album. You will not regret it, I promise!

2 thoughts on “Continuum

  1. Perhaps you have to be near your thirties to appreciate this guy….I am currently rather obsessed with Muse’s “Apocalypse Please.” It is not only a great song in itself, the use of the drums also seem to allude to Verdi’s Dies Irae (Judgment Day) mass, one of my favorite pieces of classical music.

Leave a Reply

