Resources for Studying the Epistle to the Hebrews

In the Spring semester (my last as an undergrad) of 2007, we will be working through the Greek text of Hebrews for Greek Exegesis. I must admit that I am really excited that we will study this book (this class is one of the reasons I am a Biblical Languages major to begin with). I have for sometime now really been intrigued with this book; it’s style, theology, pastoral warmth and concern, OT imagery, Christology, and many other things. I began building a library of resources concerning this book alone in anticipation for this class. Some of the resources that I have, and recommend to others are listed below. I hope that this helps anyone who desires to study and engage the text of this profound Epistle, which by the way was not written by the apostle Paul.

Commentaries

For a good commentary on the Greek text, this is the one that I would recommend.

This 2 vol. set is considered by most the best on Hebrews. The introduction is really well done.

A good, but expensive commentary. These commentaries cover a wide area of topics and disciplines as they relate to the text.

I have not really had the time to look at this commentary as much as I would like. Nonetheless, it is one to have and consult.

This is a commentary that is good for it’s theology. I am glad that Eerdman’s has once again brought it back into print.

Good introduction and well researched. F.F. Bruce is a well respected commentator, and always produces a well thought out and researched work.

These are just a few of the commentaries that are published and should be on the selves of every student of Hebrews. In my next post, I will list some other books that help with interpreting and understanding this magnificent work…of Apollos. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Resources for Studying the Epistle to the Hebrews

  1. I really like the William Lane commentary set from Word as well. For those who might not be looking for something so thorough, he has also published a single volume commentary on Hebrews, in paperback. -fyi

Leave a Reply

