Some Comparisons between 2 Peter 2 and Jude.

I have started a study of the Epistle of Jude. Also, in my time of devotional reading I have been reading 2 Peter so that I can get a feel for the similarities between these two epistles. Some of the similarities I have noticed center around the coming of false prophets. It is hard to tell who wrote their epistle first, but at a glance it seems that Peter wrote to warn his audience of the false prophets coming, whereas Jude said that they have appeared. But it also could be that Peter is not so much making a prediction (that the false prophets will come) as he is just stating the obvious (false prophets came in the past, therefore they will come in the future). I will list a few of the similarities between the two writings here as they relate to the false prophets as well as other similarities:

i. They deny the Lordship of Christ (2 Pet. 2.1; Jd 4)

ii. Heresies brought into the church (2 Pet. 2.1; Jd 4)

iii. Lives of licentiousness (2 Pet. 2.2; Jd 4)

iv. Their condemnation has long been prepared (2 Pet. 2.3; Jd 4)

v. The angels not spared; committed to chains of darkness and gloom (2 Pet. 2.4; Jd 6)

vi. Sodom and Gomorrah an example of divine judgment (2 Pet. 2.6; Jd 7)

These are but a few of the similarities that I have noticed as I have been working my way through Jude and 2 Peter. Now, there has been a question that has been running through my mind as I have been thinking about these things. Has anyone purposed a source document that both Peter and Jude used when they composed their documents? Now I do not believe that there was in the slightest. But in light of entire Q hypothesis, I wonder if anyone has tried to sell a Q for Peter and Jude. Just a silly thought I suppose.

On a different note, I leave you with 2 Peter 3.10-13:

10. But the day of the Lord will come like a thief, and then the heavens will pass away with a roar, and the heavenly bodies will be burned up and dissolved, and the earth and the works that are done on it will be exposed. 11. Since all these things are thus to be dissolved, what sort of people ought you to be in lives of holiness and godliness, 12. waiting for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be set on fire and dissolved, and the heavenly bodies will melt as they burn! 13. But according to his promise we are waiting for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells.

The more I read passages about the coming of the Lord, the more I move away from my dispensational upbringing.

Technorati : , , ,
Del.icio.us : , , ,

One thought on “Some Comparisons between 2 Peter 2 and Jude.

Leave a Reply

