Random Thoughts

Sometimes I get down and wonder what the Lord has in store for me and what He is going to do with my life. Before the Lord saved me I had no desire to study and get an education. School was the last thing on my mind. I barley scraped by in high school. When I graduated from high school I went to junior college and hated every minute of it. I would only go because I needed the 12 units to stay on my parents medical insurance. I pretty much flunked every class that I took.

But something happened along the way. The first thing was that I was saved. This radically changed the way I looked at life (as it should). Although my love for school did not come right away, it did develop over time. I decided to leave school and work instead. For five years I worked at a resturant in my hometown. It was also during this time that I began to fall in love with books. I used the money I got from busing tables to start building a library of my own. This was something new for me. I use to hate to read, and you would never catch me with a book in my hand or anywhere near me. But the Lord began to do a work in my heart that continues to this day.

Also, it was during this time that I began to sense the Lord's calling in my life to enter the ministry. I am still trying to figure where He wants me to serve, but I know that this what I am most passionate about. Over time I began to enjoy learning and thought that I should return to school. I knew that if I wanted to go into the ministry I would have to go back to college. I wanted to go to a school that taught the Bible. As I began to look at schools, I also decided that I wanted to major in Greek and Hebrew if possible. As I looked on the internet, I came across the college I attend now: The Master's College. I saw that they offered a major in Biblical Languages and I decided that it would be the place that I would attend.

I am so grateful that the Lord has allowed me to be here at this college. I have been taught the Bible from men who believe stongly in it's authority and power to change lives. They have poured their lives into mine, and for that I will be forever grateful. The Lord is indeed a great and awesome God!

Now as I finish this semester and look forward to my last year, I ask the Lord this: where do you want me and what is your will for my life? That is all that I want to do. I want to be like my Savior more everyday.

Technorati :

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts

  1. Awesome testimony of God’s grace and sovereignty. What made you choose the language major? To be honest, I choose it because of the pure enjoyment I get out of learning a language…of course, learning so much about God’s word has been a huge blessing. Now I have this burden because of the knowledge I have gained, and I don’t know what to do :-).

Leave a Reply

