Greek Exegesis Paper

I have a Greek Exegesis paper due this semester, and I am really looking forward to sitting down and writing it. The passage I have chosen is from Eph 2.11-22. There is a lot of theology there that I have been thinking about over the last 2-3 years. Even with all of the excitement that I have in looking forward to writing this paper there is just one problem that I am facing: I do not know how to start it. I have never written an exegetical paper before, and this is quite nerve wracking for me. I am a bit of a perfectionist and when I study I want to leave no stone unturned. Everything for me needs to be explored and discussed. But I am finding that I do not have the time nor the skill to be able to explore every aspect of this passage that I would like. This is a bit frustrating for me. I know the passage now like I know my name, but putting it to paper (computer) is not happening for me right now. I have been blessed by Dr. Fee's New Testament Exegesis: A Handbook for Students and Pastors. It has been a sure guide for me, getting me started and showing me the basics of exegesis.

On a personal note, I have been struggling a lot with the flesh these last couple of days. This has been extremely discouraging for me. There is nothing more that I want to do than to honor the Lord Jesus Christ. I pray that he would give me more of a desire for him, and the grace to be able to kill the sin that lives in my flesh.

4 thoughts on “Greek Exegesis Paper

  1. I’m not familiar with the task of exegesis, but couldn’t you just focus on one topic to be discussed and not everything? Student papers are frustrating because we have so little time (and ability) to be as thorough as we would wish.

  2. hmm, yeah, i feel your greek-exegetical-paper-pain. i want to start, but i really don’t know how, even though the process has been outlined for me. partly because i’m a procrastinator, partly because i lean toward the perfectionist side of things. bah. that and the philippians commentary 🙂

Leave a Reply

