Warnings from the Epistle to the Hebrews Pt.II

Quoting from the Psalms, the author to the Hebrews says thus:

"Therefore, as the Holy Spirit says,

'Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as is in the rebellion, on the day of testing in the wilderness, where you fathers put me to the test and saw my works for forty years. Therefore I was provoked with that generation, as said, 'They always go astray in their heart; they have not known my ways.' As I swore in my wrath, 'They shall not enter my rest.'" (Heb 3.7-11).

The author of Hebrews goes back the wilderness experience where the people who just left Egypt – by the power of God and through His mighty deliverance – died in the wilderness because of their unbelief and sin. The author now uses this passage from Ps. 95.7-11 as a warning for his hears that they also can be destroyed, left to die in the wilderness of God's wrath. He continues in vv.12-15:

"Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called 'today,' that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. For we share in Christ, if indeed we hold our original confidence firm to the end. As it is said, 'Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.'"

Again, as I read through this book, I am reminded that I am not to sit back and cruise through this life. There is a battle, and there is the chance that I may lose this battle due to apathy. Is it possible that I could fall away from the living God and rebel against him due to a heart of evil? Could I also be deceived by sin and fall away from Jesus Christ? This is what I need to always be aware of and to strive to kill sin and wickedness in my own heart daily. I finish this post with these words from the Author:

"Therefore, while the promise of entering his rest still stands, let us fear lest any of you should seem to have failed to reach it. For good news came to us just as to them, but the message they heard did not benefit them, because they were not united by with those who listened" (Heb. 4.1-2).

2 thoughts on “Warnings from the Epistle to the Hebrews Pt.II

  1. Now that I’ve had a chance to read it…

    What you say is disconcerting. If you are apathetic, then I am afraid to think what I am. There is perseverance of the saints, but there are also questions which aren’t easy to bring up. How far can we fall away, and for how long? I used to think of it in terms of days and weeks, but now I am afraid I have seen it run as long as months.

    What I forget is that pushing forward is a communal effort, not a personal one. I often pray that God will get me out of my low points, but I think He intends to do that mainly through the fellowship of the church and not by an instantaneous change of the heart.
    The important point, I think, is in the middle: Exhort one another every day….For we share in Christ.

Leave a Reply

