Warnings from The Epistle to the Hebrews Pt. I

The more I read this amazing book, the more I am convicted. I have returned to this letter time and time again. It always serves as a reminder to me that the faith that I claim is one that is to be held on to with all of my soul. There are many reminders, strong ones in fact, that to fall away from the Lord is as serious as it can be. Just to highlight a few here:

2.1: For this reason we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.

In light of what the author (add who you think it may be here) has written in the previous chapter about the supremacy of Christ compared to the fathers, prophets, angels, we are to not drift away from that. Why?

2.2, 3: For if the word spoken through angels proved unalterable, and every transgression and disobedience received a just recompense, how shall we escape if we neglect so great a salvation?

The necessity to hear and obey the word of God is one that we must take more seriously (one that I must take more seriously!). It is so easy to go to Church and hear the word of God and then leave forgetting all that the Word requires of me to obey! There are many more warnings in this book that if time and the Lord permits, I will expound on a little here in this blog. More the Lord open our hearts and ears to hear His word so that we may do His word all for His glory and for the praise of His holy name!

Solus Christus!

One thought on “Warnings from The Epistle to the Hebrews Pt. I

  1. This is an apt topic. I came across a verse in 2 Chronicles this morning that is closely related and struck me at my own point of weakness:

    Amaziah was twenty-five years old when he became king, and he reigned twenty-nine years in Jerusalem….And he did what was right in the sight of the Lord, but not with a loyal heart. (25:1-2)

    I think it is very easy to fall away in such a way that you do not even realize it. Where you still know what is right and do the things that are right, but at the same time have lost the loyalty, passion, and love for God that make those things meaningful.

Leave a Reply

